Freedom through Blogging

I started blogging almost three years ago. Before doing it, I didn’t know that anybody could do it. I thought that it was expensive and reserve for only “a few”.

I didn’t “get blogging” right away (even though I read a lot of websites –that I didn’t know were blogs, by the way) so  one day I created a free account and started writing a small post here and there. Then, something started to happen.

I started to receive questions from readers. And that’s when I got it. People from countries thousands of miles away were finding what I had to say relevant enough that they started asking me for advise. To Me! I couldn’t believe it. Before that I thought that only “experts” were the ones that received the questions, let alone being read around the world.

Then I started to blog more and more often. I’m not even at 100 posts yet, and I’m still hosted at wordpress.com

By blogging, I’ve learned to value and taking myself more seriously.

By blogging, I’ve learned that anybody can make a dent in the world, even if his/her world is 200 people.

By blogging I’ve learned that if I want to be read, all I have to do is write.

By blogging I’ve learned that I don’t have to wear any masks (or suits) to create an impact.

But, most importantly, by blogging I’ve learned to tackle on some fears that had been haunting me for years.

Blogging has opened doors that I never thought I could open. I have received job offers, consulting requests and I have met incredible people, even if only through the keyboard (and sometimes phone and webcam).

The cool part is that none of that would have happened if I continued to be just a blog reader. I had to create, to give myself.

This post is in celebration of the release of “Freedom is Blogging in Your Underwear”, by one of my favorite authors, Hugh Macleod.

Thank you Hugh.

___

Empecé a bloguear hace casi tres años. Antes de hacerlo, no sabía que cualquiera podia hacerlo. Pensaba que era algo caro y reservado para “unos cuantos”.

No entendí lo que era bloguear  de inmediato (a pesar de que leía muchos sitios que no sabía eran blogs), pero aún así abrí una cuenta gratuita y empecé a escribir un post de vez en cuando.

Luego empecé a recibir preguntas de mis lectores. Y ahí fue cuando lo entendí. Gente de países a miles de kilometros encontraban lo que yo tenía que decir lo suficientemente relevante como para preguntar mi opinion. ¡A mi! No podia creerlo. Antes de eso pensaba que sólo los “expertos” eran los que recibían las preguntas, y los que eran leídos alrededor del mundo.

Luego empecé a escribir más. Y más seguido. Todavía no llego a 100 “posts”, y mi blog sigue en wordpress.com

Al bloguear, he aprendido a valolarme y a tomarme más seriamente.

Al bloguear, he aprendido que cualquiera puede hacer un cambio en el mundo, aunque su mundo sean solamente 200 personas.

Al bloguear, he aprendido que si quiero ser leído, lo único que tengo que hacer es escribir.

Al bloguear, he aprendido que no tengo que usar ninguna mascara (o traje) para tener un impacto.

Pero, quizá lo más importante, al bloguear he aprendido a lidiar con miedos que he tenido por varios años.

Bloguear me ha abierto puertas que nunca pense que yo podría abrir. He recibido ofertas de trabajo, solicitudes de consultoría, y he conocido a gente incredible (aunque sea solamente a través del teclado, y ocasionalmente teléfono y webcam).

Lo interesante de todo esto es que nunca habría pasado si me hubiera quedado meramente como un lector de blogs. Tuve que crear, darme a mi mismo.

Este post es en celebración del lanzamiento de “Freedom is Blogging in Your Underwear”, de uno de mis autores favoritos, Hugh Macleod.

Gracias Hugh.

Publicado el 05/02/2012 en Mercadotecnia y etiquetado en , , , , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente. 1 comentario.

Responder

